Western Meeting - June 28-29, 2018

  • 28 Jun 2018
  • 29 Jun 2018
  • Vancouver, BC

93rd Annual Conference of the Western Economic Association International

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

NAFE Sessions Dates: June 28-29, 2018

Hotel: Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre

Housing Link: http://www.weai.org/2018HotelInfo

Conference Information: http://www.weai.org/AC2018

NAFE will be holding six sessions at the 93rd Annual Conference of the Western Economic Association International in Vancouver, B.C., Canada. There will be three sessions on Thursday, June 28, and three sessions on Friday, June 29, with a NAFE reception following the final session on Thursday, June 28. Register now and be sure to reserve a hotel room at the conference rate. The deadline to register at the “early bird” conference rate ($45 discount) is May 15th.

See below for the current schedule:

Thursday, June 28

Session 1- 8:15 a.m.

“Refuting Bogus Statistics in Litigation: A Case Study”

Kevin Cahill, Boston College (cahillkc@bc.edu)

“The Growth of Subrogation and the Future of Personal Injury Litigation”

Stephen Spurr, Wayne State University (sspurr@wayne.edu)

“Mitigating Future Economic Damages in Disputes Revolving Credit Damages”

Roman Garagulagian, Forensic Economic Services (Roman@Rule703.com)

Session 2- 10:15 a.m.

“Earning Capacity of Undocumented Workers”

Nikanor I. Volkov, Eugene W. Stetson School of Business and Economics,

Mercer University (volkov_ni@mercer.edu)

“Earnings Growth: Panel and Cross-Sectional Dataset Comparisons”

William H. Rogers, W.H. Rogers, L.L.C. (william@whrogersecon.com)

Session 3- 2:30 p.m.

“The Minimum Wage, Turnover, and the Shape of the Wage Distribution”

David Green,* Vancouver School of Economics, UBC (david.green@ubc.ca)

Joint with Pierre Brochu (University of Ottawa), Thomas Lemieux

(Vancouver School of Economics, UBC), and James Townsend (University of Winnipeg)

“Seattle’s Minimum Wage Ordinance: Impacts on Wages, Workers, Jobs, and Establishments”

Jacob L. Vigdor, Evans School of Public Policy & Governance, University of Washington

(jvigdor@uw.edu)

“The New Wave of Minimum Wage Policies:

Evidence from Six Cities”

Michael Reich, Department of Economics and

Institute for Research on Labor and

Employment; University of California, Berkeley

(mreich@econ.berkeley.edu)

NAFE Reception: After the final session on Thursday, join us for a reception and social

event at ‘Relish the Pub’ (http://www.relishthepub.com/relish/menu.asp). ‘Relish

the Pub’ is within walking distance of the hotel

at 888 Nelson Street (between Hornby & Howe), or see this Google Map for the location: https://goo.gl/maps/NHzUFDx8yBK2. Additional details to be announced.

Friday, June 29

Session 1- 8:15 a.m.

“Cryptocurrency Return and Risk Metric Estimation” Steven J. Shapiro, New York Institute of Technology (sshapi01@nyit.edu)

“Quantifying Pension & Employment Benefit Loss – Approaches & Considerations”

Stephen Cheng, Westcoast Actuaries Inc. (Stephen.Cheng@westcoast-actuaries.com)

and Neil Chicoine, Westcoast Actuaries Inc. (neil.chicoine@westcoast-actuaries.com)

“Effects of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on Neutralizing the Adverse Effect of State and

Federal Income Taxes on Lump Sum Awards in Employment Cases” Mike Nieswiadowmy,* Department of Economics, University of North Texas (Michael.nieswiadomy@unt.edu) and Tom Loudat (tomloud@earthlink.net)

Session 2- 10:15 a.m.

Panel: Analysis and Rebuttal of Economic Damages in Wrongful Death Case Study Jim Rodgers, Professor Emeritus, Pennsylvania State University (jdr@psu.edu)

William H. Rogers, W.H. Rogers, L.L.C.

(william@whrogersecon.com)

Tom Roney, Thomas Roney, L.L.C.

(TRoney@thomasroneyllc.com)

Session 3- 2:30 p.m.

“Higher-order Markov Estimates of Worklife” Matthew Cushing & David Rosenbaum

(mcushing1@unl.edu; drosenbaum@unl.edu)

“A Cohort Approach to Worklife Estimation” Matthew Cushing & David Rosenbaum

(mcushing1@unl.edu; drosenbaum@unl.edu)

“Worklife Norms, Risks, and Duration” Scott Gilbert, Department of Economics,

Southern Illinois University Carbondale (gilberts@siu.edu)


Christina Tapia (christina@nweconomics.com)

Vice President – Western Region




Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software